Cyprus: Ten Kingdoms, Three Languages, One Identity

Iron Age, 1300–300 BC
August 4, 2010
Media Photo/Video

Photos for News Media Use Only

Iron Age, 1300–300 BC

For a thousand years, Cyprus was divided into at least ten autonomous states. The inhabitants spoke three languages: Greek, Phoenician, and Eteocypriot, the original language of Cyprus. The art of the Cypriot kingdoms reflects a multitude of foreign influences. This limestone figure reveals its archaic Greek influence, while the pointed hat comes from Syria.

Limestone statuette of a male figure, 600–550 BC
Height: 33 cm
Lefkoniko (Famagusta District)