Skip navigation
Share this page

People: Who’s Who at the Smithsonian Institution

Albert G. Horvath

Albert G. Horvath

Albert Horvath became Acting Secretary of the Smithsonian Jan. 1. He will serve in this position until David J. Skorton, the 13th Secretary of the Smithsonian, arrives in July.

Before becoming the Acting Secretary, Horvath was the Under Secretary for Finance and Administration and chief financial officer of the Smithsonian. He oversaw many Smithsonian offices with more than 2,200 employees, including facilities and maintenance, human resources, security and financial operations. He joined the Smithsonian in 2011.

Board of Regents

The legislation that created the Smithsonian Institution (approved by Congress Aug. 10, 1846) called for the creation of a Board of Regents to govern and administer the organization.

More about the Board of Regents...

Senior Executives

Senior Administration & Support Officers

  • Susan Ades, Director, Smithsonian Exhibits
  • Nancy Bechtol, Director, Office of Facilities Engineering and Operations
  • Deron Burba, Chief Information Officer
  • Michael Caruso, Editor-in-Chief, Smithsonian magazine
  • James Douglas, Director, Office of Human Resources
  • Molly Fannon, Director, Office of International Relations
  • Tracey Fraser, Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
  • Jean Garvin, Director of Finance and Accounting
  • Chandra P. Heilman, Ombudsman
  • Karen Keller, Director, Office of Special Events and Protocol
  • Dorothy A. Leffler, Director, Office of Contracting & Personal Property Management
  • Jeanne O’Toole, Director, Office of Protection Services
  • Nell Payne, Director, Government Relations
  • David Voyles, Director, Office of Planning, Management and Budget
  • Whitney Watriss, Acting Director, Office of Policy and Analysis
  • Eric Woodard, Director, Office of Fellowships and Internships
  • Elizabeth Ziebarth, Coordinator, Accessibility Program

Museum, Research & Program Directors

  • Fredie Adelman, Director, The Smithsonian Associates
  • Camille Giraud Akeju, Director, Anacostia Museum
  • Charles R. Alcock, Director, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Caroline Baumann, Director, Cooper-Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
  • Elizabeth Broun, Director, Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Renwick Gallery
  • Lonnie G. Bunch III, Director, National Museum of African American History and Culture
  • Teng Chamchumrus , Interim Director, Smithsonian Science Education Center
  • Melissa Chiu, Director, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
  • Harold A. Closter, Director, Smithsonian Affiliations
  • Johnnetta B. Cole, Director, National Museum of African Art
  • John R. Dailey, Director, National Air and Space Museum
  • Eduardo Díaz, Smithsonian Latino Center
  • Kevin Gover, Director, National Museum of the American Indian
  • John Gray, Director, National Museum of American History, Behring Center
  • Nancy E. Gwinn, Director, Smithsonian Institution Libraries
  • Kate Haw, Director, Archives of American Art
  • Anson "Tuck" Hines, Director, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
  • Kirk Johnson, Director National Museum of Natural History
  • Allen R. Kane, Director, National Postal Museum
  • Dennis Kelly, Director, National Zoological Park
  • Robert J. Koestler, Director, Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute
  • Matthew Larsen, Director, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute
  • Michael Atwood Mason, Director, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
  • Konrad Ng, Director, Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
  • Stephanie L. Norby, Director, Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access
  • Valerie J. Paul, Director, Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce
  • Julian Raby, Director, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
  • Kim Sajet, Director, National Portrait Gallery
  • Myriam Springuel, Interim Director, Smithsonian Traveling Exhibition Service
  • Anne Van Camp, Director, Smithsonian Institution Archives

Consortia Directors