Symington, W. Stuart. photograph

image for Symington, W. Stuart. photograph
W. Stuart Symington, former Assistant Secretary of War for Air, is shown taking the oath of office as [the first] Secretary of the Air Force from Chief Justice Fred Vincent. Left to right are: Secretary Symington, Secretary of the Army, Kenneth C. Royall, Secretary of National Defense James N. Forrestal, Chief Justice Vincent and Secretary of the Navy John Sullivan. [Taken 18 September 1947 by James O. Lucas, USAF Photographer.]
Repository Loc.
National Air and Space Museum, Archives Division, MRC 322, Washington, DC, 20560
National Air and Space Museum Archives
Restrictions & Rights
Images are subject to Smithsonian Institution, National Air and Space Museum, Copyright and Image Use Restrictions. Usage requires prior written permission. Should you wish to use NASM still images in any medium, please submit an Application for Permission to Reproduce NASM Photographs, available at NASM's Permissions webpage:
See more items in
United States Air Force Pre-1954 Still Photography Collection
Local number