Woman Suffrage Button

images for Woman Suffrage Button
Button worn by supporters of woman suffrage.
The nine stars represent the number of states in which women had full suffrage at the time it was made. The first nine states to extend suffrage to women were Wyoming (1869), Colorado (1893), Utah (1896), Idaho (1896), Washington (1910), California (1911), Kansas, Oregon and Arizona (all 1912).
"Votes for Women" was one of the most popular and recognizable slogans used by members of the woman’s suffrage movement.
Currently not on view
Women's Suffrage
National Museum of American History
Physical Description
metal (overall material)
overall: 3/4 in x 3/4 in x 1/4 in x 3/4 in; 1.905 cm x 1.905 cm x .635 cm x 1.905 cm
See more items in
Political History: Political History, Women's History Collection
Government, Politics, and Reform
Woman Suffrage
Object Name
ID Number
accession number
catalog number