Search Committee for the 14th Smithsonian Secretary

May 27, 2019
Media Fact Sheet
Social Media Share Tools
SI sunburst

The Smithsonian’s Board of Regents formed a search committee Dec. 28, 2018, to identify an individual to serve as the 14th Secretary of the Institution. The committee was staffed by Greg Bettwy in the Secretary’s office and Porter Wilkinson in the Regents’ office, and assisted by the executive search firm Heidrick & Struggles.

The members of the committee were:

  • David Rubenstein, co-chair of the search committee and chair of the Board of Regents
  • Steve Case, co-chair of the search committee and vice chair of the Board of Regents
  • Barbara Barrett, Board of Regents
  • John Fahey, Board of Regents
  • Paula Kerger, chair of the National Museum of Natural History’s advisory board
  • Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, member of the Board of Regent’s three-person executive committee (with Rubenstein and Case)
  • Michael Lynton, Board of Regents
  • Doris Matsui, Board of Regents
  • Jeffrey Minear, Counselor to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (chancellor of the Smithsonian)
  • Stephanie Stebich, Margaret and Terry Stent Director of the Smithsonian American Art Museum
  • Ellen Stofan, John and Adrienne Mars Director of the National Air and Space Museum

# # #



Media Only

Linda St. Thomas

(202) 633-5188