Sculpture and the Federal Triangle

October 26, 1979 – January 6, 1980

Smithsonian American Art Museum
8th and F Streets, NW
Washington, DC

3rd Floor Floor Plan

Examine 100 architectural drawings, preliminary drawings and models, and photographs that document the collaboration of architects, builders, sculptors, and craftsmen who designed and executed the decoration of 7 buildings in the Capital's "Federal Triangle."

The 7 buildings, built between 1927 and 1938, are the Federal Trade Commission, National Archives, Department of Justice, Internal Revenue Service, Department of the Post Office (now Federal Building), Department of Commerce, and the complex incorporating the Interstate Commerce Commission, Departmental Auditorium and Department of Labor (now Customs Service).

Related book