DC Art Association - Exhibition 1971

May 2, 1971 – June 20, 1971

Anacostia Community Museum
1901 Fort Place, SE
Washington, DC

The District of Columbia Art Association (DCAA) is a group of artists in metropolitan Washington, DC dedicated to ensuring that art continues to be a creative, living force in their communities. Originally known as the DC Art Education Association, DCAA’s membership and the scope of its involvement in the community have grown continuously since its founding by public school art teachers in 1961. Programs and projects sponsored by DCAA provide scholarships to aspiring art students, financial grants to the Anacostia Neighborhood Museum, awards of recognition to fine arts students at Howard University, and stipends for individual study of art.

The third annual exhibition of the DC Art Association features works by the following artists: Annabelle G. Bacot, E. Loretta Ballard, Bernard W. Brooks, Albert Joseph Carter, Wallace X. Conway, Sr., Rushie E. Croxton, Rachel Estwick Davis, W. Bruce Davis, Juette Johnson Day, John Elder, Leroy Gaskin, Annabelle Green, Venda Seals Jennings, Nanno Lee, Semaje Margni, Charles E. Mitchell, Corinne Mitchell, Joy Ballard Peters, Delilah W. Pierce, Georgette Seabrooke Powell, Peter L. Robinson, Jr., Kenn Simpson, Edith Grimes Strange, Jean Taylor, Alma W. Thomas, Larry Erskine Thomas, Conrad W. Thompson, Evelyn L. Ware, Maxine Watlington, James L. Wells, and Bertie Wiggs.