Stamps of Approval

November 15, 2011 – April 29, 2012

Smithsonian Institution Building (The Castle)
1000 Jefferson Drive, SW
Washington, DC

Schermer Hall, West Wing

The U.S. Postal Service recognized the work of American industrial designers in a new series of Forever stamps launched on June 29, 2011. Honored as "Pioneers of American Industrial Design" are Dave Chapman, Donald Deskey, Henry Dreyfuss, Norman Bel Geddes, Raymond Loewy, Peter Müller-Munk, Eliot Noyes, Frederick Hurten Rhead, Gilbert Rohde, Walter Dorwin Teague, Greta von Nessen, and Russel Wright. On view in this exhibition are eight objects featured on the stamps from the collection of George R. Kravis II; these objects helped shape the look of everyday life in the 20th century:

  • Henry Dreyfuss's 1937 Model 302 Bell telephone
  • Norman Bell Geddes's 1940 Patriot radio
  • Peter Müller-Munk's 1935 Normandie pitcher
  • Eliot Noyes's 1961 Selectric typewriter for IBM
  • Frederick Hurten Rhead's 1936 Fiesta pitcher
  • Walter Dorwin Teague's 1934 Baby Brownie camera
  • Greta von Nessen's 1951 Anywhere lamp
  • Russel Wright's 1951 Highlight/Pinch flatware

Also on view is a design drawing by Russel Wright from the museum's collection.