Norman Rockwell's "The Four Freedoms"

September 20, 2001 – September 5, 2002

National Museum of American History
14th Street and Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC

2nd Floor, Center Court, under Orientation Video Floor Plan

On view are four posters representing Norman Rockwell's interpretations of President Franklin Roosevelt's four freedoms essential for peace, presented in his State of the Union Address to Congress on January 6, 1941: freedom of speech, freedom of worship, freedom from fear, and freedom from want. These illustrations inspired many Americans during World War II and were later reproduced in The Saturday Evening Post.