2016-2017 Postgraduate Fellowships in Conservation of Museum Collections

The Smithsonian’s Office of Fellowships and Internships has announced one-year fellowships for recent graduates of masters programs in art and archaeological conservation (or the equivalent) to conduct research and gain further training in Smithsonian conservation laboratories for conservation of museum collections.  Researchers in conservation science topics, including those at the postdoctoral level, are also encouraged to apply.  The fellowship begins in the fall of 2016. A stipend of $37,700 is being offered at the postgraduate level and $48,000 at the postdoctoral level, plus a research allowance up to $4,000.  While 12-month fellowship proposals are preferred, applications for projects of shorter duration (between 3-12 months) are acceptable, with a commensurate reduction to the stipend amounts.  The prospective fellow must first contact the conservator or scientist with whom he or she would like to work. If the potential supervisor confirms that candidacy is suitable, application must be made through the Office of Fellowships and Internships by December 1, 2016.  Program guidelines and instructions for application are available at http://www.smithsonianofi.com/fellowship-opportunities/smithsonian-postgraduate-fellowships-in-conservation-of-museum-collections-program/.  As one of the conservation laboratories in which a fellowship is offered, the Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) offers postings for treatment and research projects benefiting Smithsonian collections that make use of MCI’s excellent analytical capabilities (http://www.si.edu/mci/). Contact:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210,ballardm@smsi.edu 
A. Elena Charola, Research Scientist (biodeterioration, stone), 301-238-1213, charolaa@si.edu 
Paula T. DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Janet G. Douglas, Head of Technical Studies (analysis of cultural heritage), 301-238-1238, douglja@si.edu 
Christine France, Physical Scientist (stable isotopes), 301-238-1261,francec@si.edu 
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236,grissomc@si.edu  
Jessica S. Johnson, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1218, johnsonjs@si.edu 
Rebecca Kaczkowski, Preventive Conservator, 301-238-1242, kaczkowskir@si.edu
Robert J. Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205,koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu 
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301-238-1257, maddeno@si.edu 
Dawn Rogala, Paintings Conservator (modern paints, artists’ materials research/archives), 301-238-1255, rogalad@si.edu 
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (research and treatment of modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu  
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu 

Fellows may also be hosted in the conservation and analytical laboratories of other Smithsonian museums and research centers, with the possibility of additional facilities for analytical work available at MCI. The conservator contacts for these museums are listed below:

Malcolm Collum, Engen Conservation Chair, National Air and Space Museum (objects) 703-572-4361; collumm@si.edu
Lucy Commoner, Head of Conservation, Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum decorative/applied arts: textiles, paper, three-dimensional objects) 212-849-8461; commonerl@si.edu
Tiarna Doherty, Chief of Conservation, Smithsonian American Art Museum (colonial to contemporary paintings, paper, objects, and frames) 202-633-5802; dohertyt@si.edu
Janice Ellis, Senior Paper Conservator, National Museum of American History  (books and paper) 202-633-3623; ellisjs@si.edu
Sunae Park Evans, Senior Costume Conservator, National Museum of American History (costumes and textiles) 202-633-3629; evanssu@si.edu
Andrew Hare, Supervisory Oriental Art Restoration, Freer and Sackler Galleries (objects, paper, and Asian paintings; and conservation science) 202-633-0370; harean@si.edu
Special note: Due to museum construction, the Freer and Sackler Galleries are not currently accepting applications for fellowships in this cycle; however they do welcome inquiries from persons interested in developing a project at a future date.

Catharine Hawks, Natural History Conservator, National Museum of Natural History (natural history and anthropological objects) 202-633-0835; hawksc@si.edu
Nora Lockshin, Senior Conservator, Smithsonian Institution Archives (archives, books, and paper) 202-633-5913; lockshinn@si.edu
Dana Moffett, Senior Conservator, National Museum of African Art (objects) 202-633-4614; moffettd@si.edu
Lou Molnar, Head of Conservation, National Portrait Gallery (paintings and paper) 202-633-5822; molnarl@si.edu
Beth Richwine, Senior Objects Conservator, National Museum of American History (objects) 202-633-3639; richwineb@si.edu
Gwynne Ryan, Chief Conservator, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (modern materials) 202-633- 2728; ryangw@si.edu