2014-2015 Postgraduate Fellowships in Conservation of Museum Collections

The Smithsonian’s Office of Fellowships and Internships has announced one-year fellowships for recent graduates of masters programs in art and archaeological conservation or the equivalent or for conservation scientists, including those at the postdoctoral level,  to conduct research and gain further training in Smithsonian conservation laboratories for conservation of objects in museum collections.  The fellowship begins in the fall of 2014. A stipend of $35,000 is being offered plus a research allowance up to $2,000. The prospective fellow must first contact the conservator or scientist with whom he or she would like to work. If the potential supervisor confirms that candidacy is suitable, application must be made through the Office of Fellowships and Internships by January 15, 2014. Program guidelines, instructions, cover sheets, and letters for your referees are available at http://www.smithsonianofi.com/fellowship-opportunities/smithsonian-institution-fellowship-program/.  As one of the conservation laboratories in which a fellowship is offered, the Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) offers postings for treatment and research projects benefiting Smithsonian collections that make use of MCI’s excellent analytical capabilities (http://www.si.edu/mci/). Contact:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@smsi.edu
A. Elena Charola, Research Scientist (biodeterioration, stone), 301-238-1213, charolaa@si.edu
Paula T. DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Christine France, Physical Scientist (stable isotopes), 301-238-1261, francec@si.edu
Jennifer Giaccai, Conservation Scientist, 301-238-1211, giaccaij@si.edu
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu  
Robert J. Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301-238-1257, maddeno@si.edu
Mehdi Moini, Research Scientist (mass spectrometry/proteomics), 301-238-1238, moinim@si.edu
                Hanna Szczepanowska, Conservator, 301-238-1232, szczepanowskah@si.edu
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu  
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu 
Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (advanced imaging, 3D scanning, and wooden artifacts), 301-238-1218, wachowiakm@si.edu

Fellows may also be hosted in the conservation laboratories of other Smithsonian museums, with the possibility of additional facilities for analytical work available at MCI. The conservator contacts for these museums are listed below:

Janice Ellis, National Museum of American History (202-633-3623; ellisjs@si.edu) for book and paper conservation
Sunae Park Evans, National Museum of American History (202-633-3629; evanssu@si.edu) for costume conservation
Malcolm Collum, National Air and Space Museum (703-572-4361; collumm@si.edu) for objects conservation
Tiarna Doherty, Smithsonian American Art Museum (202-633-5802; dohertyt@si.edu) for colonial to contemporary paintings, paper, objects, and frames conservation
Catherine Hawks, National Museum of Natural History (202-633-0835; hawksc@si.edu) for natural history objects
                conservation
Greta Hansen, National Museum of Natural History (301-238-1306; hanseng@si.edu) for anthropological objects conservation
Andrew Hare, Freer and Sackler Galleries (202-633-0370; harean@si.edu) for objects, paper, and Asian paintings conservation; and conservation science
Marian Kaminitz, National Museum of the American Indian (301-238-1415; kaminitzm@si.edu) for archaeological and ethnographic objects and textile conservation
Susan Lake, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (202-633-2731; lakes@si.edu) for conservation of modern materials
Nora Lockshin, Smithsonian Institution Archives (202-633-5913; lockshinn@si.edu) for archives, book and paper conservation
Dana Moffett, National Museum of African Art (202-633-4614; moffettd@si.edu) for objects conservation
Lou Molnar, National Portrait Gallery (202-633-5822; molnarl@si.edu) for paintings and paper conservation
Beth Richwine, National Museum of American History (202-633-3639; richwineb@si.edu) for objects conservation
Suzanne Thomassen-Krauss, National Museum of American History (202-633-3347; thomassenkrauss@si.edu) for
                textile conservation