2012 Internships for Research Projects at MCI

The Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute is offering short-term opportunities to work on research projects with staff members. The internships are intended mainly for the summer of 2012, but consideration will be given to projects at other times during the year.  Preference will be given to applicants currently enrolled in conservation training programs or graduate students in related subjects. A stipend may be offered for a period of up to 10 weeks. Projects will be supervised by the following staff members, whom applicants are urged to contact in advance of application:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@si.edu
Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1235,   beaubienh@si.edu
Paula DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Christine France, Physical Scientist (stable isotopes), 301-238-1261, francec@si.edu
Jennifer Giaccai, Conservation Scientist, 301-238-1211, giaccaij@si.edu
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu
Robert Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301- 238-1257, maddeno@si.edu
Mehdi Moini, Senior Research Scientist (mass spectrometry/ proteomics) 301-238-1238,   moinim@si.edu
Hanna Szczepanowska, Research Conservator (museum environments), 301-238-1232,  szczepanowskah@si.edu
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231,  tsangj@si.edu
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu
Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (advanced imaging, 3D scanning, and wooden artifacts), 301-238-1218, wachowiakm@si.edu
Donald Williams, Senior Furniture Conservator (wooden artifacts), 301-238-1239, williamsd@si.edu

Applications must be made on line at https://solaa.si.edu by March 30, 2012.  Selected candidates will be interviewed by telephone, although MCI visits are welcome.  Notifications will be sent by April 15, 2012.