2012-2013 Postgraduate Fellowships in Conservation of Museum Collections

The Smithsonian’s Office of Fellowships and Internships has announced one-year fellowships for recent graduates of masters programs in art and archaeological conservation or for conservation scientists to conduct research and gain further training at the Smithsonian in the conservation of items in its collections.  The fellowship begins in the fall of 2012. A stipend of $35,000 is being offered plus allowances. The prospective fellow must first contact the conservator or scientist with whom he or she would like to work. If the potential supervisor confirms that candidacy is suitable, application must be made through the Office of Fellowships. Program guidelines, instructions, cover sheets, and letters for your referees are available at http://www.si.edu/ofg/Applications/CFELL/CFELLapp.htm.  The deadline is January 15, 2012.

As one of the conservation laboratories in which a fellowship is offered, the Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) offers postings for treatment and research projects benefiting Smithsonian collections that make use of MCI’s excellent analytical capabilities (http://www.si.edu/mci/). Contact:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238- 1210, ballardm@si.edu
Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1235, beaubienh@si.edu  
Paula T. DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Christine France, Physical Scientist (stable isotopes), 301-238-1261, francec@si.edu
Jennifer Giaccai, Conservation Scientist, 301-238-1211, giaccaij@si.edu
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu  
Robert J. Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301-238-1257, maddeno@si.edu
Mehdi Moini, Research Scientist (mass spectrometry/proteomics), 301-238-1238, moinim@si.edu
Hanna Szczepanowska, Conservator, 301-238-1232, szczepanowskah@si.edu
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu  
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu 
Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (advanced imaging, 3D scanning, and wooden artifacts), 301-238-1218,
            wachowiakm@si.edu
Donald C. Williams, Senior Furniture Conservator (wooden artifacts), 301-238-1239, williamsd@si.edu   

Fellows may also be hosted in the conservation laboratories of other Smithsonian museums, with the possibility of additional facilities for analytical work available at MCI. The conservator contact for each museum is listed below:

Richard Barden, National Museum of American History (202-633-3638; bardenr@si.edu) for objects, paper, textile, and costume conservation
Malcolm Collum, National Air and Space Museum (301-238-1637; collumm@si.edu) for objects conservation
Annie Hall, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum’s Off-Site Objects Conservation Lab and Study Center, (202-849-8460; hallan@si.edu) for objects conservation with a focus on natural and synthetic plastics
Greta Hansen, National Museum of Natural History (301-238-1306; hanseng@si.edu) for anthropological objects conservation
Andrew Hare, Freer and Sackler Galleries (202-633-0370; harean@si.edu) for objects, paper, and Asian paintings conservation and conservation science
Helen Ingalls, Smithsonian American Art Museum (202-633-5804; ingallsh@si.edu) for paintings, paper, objects and frames conservation
Marian Kaminitz, National Museum of the American Indian (301-238-1415; kaminitzm@si.edu) for archaeological and ethnographic objects and textile conservation
Susan Lake, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (202-633-2731; lakes@si.edu) for conservation of modern materials
Steve Mellor, National Museum of African Art (202-633-4616; smellor@si.edu) for objects conservation
Lou Molnar, National Portrait Gallery (202-633-5822; molnarl@si.edu) for paintings and paper conservation
Sarah Stauderman, Smithsonian Institution Archives (202-633-5921; staudermans@si.edu) for archives and paper conservation