2010 Internships for Research Projects at MCI

The Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute is offering short-term opportunities to work on research projects with staff members. Preference will be given to applicants currently enrolled in conservation training programs or graduate students in related subjects. Stipends may be offered for a period of up to 10 weeks. The internships are intended mainly for the summer of 2010, but consideration will be given to projects at other times during the year. Projects will be supervised by the following staff members, whom applicants are urged to contact in advance of application:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@si.edu

Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1235, beaubienh@si.edu

Paula DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration studies), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu

Christine France, Physical Scientist, 301-238-1261, francec@si.edu

Jennifer Giaccai, Conservation Scientist, 301-238-1211, giaccaij@si.edu

Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu

Robert Koestler, Director (biodeterioration studies), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu

Marion Mecklenburg, Senior Research Scientist, 301-238-1241, mecklenburgm@si.edu

Mehdi Moini, Senior Research Scientist (development of proteomics capabilities for the study of museum collections) 301-238-1238, moinim@si.edu

Jeff Speakman, Head of Technical Studies, 301-238-1242, speakmanj@si.edu

Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern materials), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu

Ed Vicenzi, research scientist (microchemical studies), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu

Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (coatings, wooden objects), 301-238-1218,
wachowiakm@si.edu
 
Donald Williams, Senior Furniture Conservator, 301-238-1239, williamsd@si.edu

 

Applications must be made on line at https://solaa.si.edu by March 30, 2010.  If application has already been submitted, we would appreciate it if these candidates would reapply online.  Should this not be possible, the earlier application will be considered.  Selected candidates will be interviewed by telephone, although MCI visits are welcome.  Notifications will be sent by April 15, 2010.