2010-2011 Postgraduate Fellowships in Conservation of Museum Collections

The Smithsonian’s Office of Fellowships has announced one-year fellowships for recent graduates of masters programs in art and archaeological conservation or for conservation scientists to conduct research and gain further training at the Smithsonian in the conservation of objects in its collections.  The fellowship begins in the fall of 2010. A stipend of $32,000 is being offered plus allowances. The prospective fellow must first contact the conservator or scientist with whom he or she would like to work. If the potential supervisor confirms that candidacy is suitable, application must be made through the Office of Fellowships. Program guidelines, instructions, cover sheets, and letters for your referees are available on the Office of Fellowships’ web site (http://www.si.edu/ofg/fell.htm). The deadline is January 15, 2010.

As one of the conservation laboratories in which a fellowship is offered, the Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) offers postings for treatment of Smithsonian material and research projects that make use of MCI’s excellent analytical capabilities (http://www/si.edu/mci/). Contact:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@si.edu

Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1235, beaubienh@si.edu  

Paula T. DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu

Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu  

Robert J. Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu

Marion Mecklenburg, Senior Research Scientist, 301-238-1241, mecklenburgm@si.edu

Jeff Speakman, Head of Technical Studies, 301-238-1242, speakmanj@si.edu

Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern materials), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu  

Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (microchemistry/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu 

Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (advanced imaging, 3D scanning, and wooden artifacts), 301-238-1218,
wachowiakm@si.edu

Donald C. Williams, Senior Furniture Conservator (wooden artifacts), 301-238-1239, williamsd@si.edu   

Fellows may also be hosted at other Smithsonian conservation laboratories, with the possibility of additional facilities for analytical work available at MCI. Contact the following conservators:

Richard Barden, National Museum of American History (202-633-3638; bardenr@si.edu) for objects, paper, textile, and costume conservation

Ellen Chase, Freer and Sackler Galleries (202-633-0365; chaseel@si.edu) for objects, paper, and paintings
conservation and conservation science of Freer/Sackler collections (primarily Asian material)

Malcolm Collum, National Air and Space Museum (301-238-1637; collumm@si.edu) for objects conservation

Ann Creager, Smithsonian American Art Museum (202-633-5802; acreager@si.edu) for paintings conservation

Greta Hansen, National Museum of Natural History (301-238-1306; hanseng@si.edu) for anthropological objects
conservation

Marian Kaminitz, National Museum of the American Indian (301-238-1415; kaminitzm@si.edu) for archaeological and ethnographic objects and textile conservation

Susan Lake, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (202-633-2731; lakes@si.edu) for conservation of modern
materials

Steve Mellor, National Museum of African Art (202-633-4616; smellor@si.edu) for objects conservation

Lou Molnar, National Portrait Gallery (202-633-5822; molnarl@si.edu) for paintings and paper conservation

Sarah Stauderman, Smithsonian Institution Archives (202-633-5921; staudermans@si.edu) for archives and paper conservation