2007 Internships for MCI Research Projects

The Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute is offering short-term opportunities to work on research projects with staff members. Preference will be given to applicants currently enrolled in conservation training programs or graduate students in related subjects. Stipends will be offered for a period of up to 10 weeks. The internships are intended mainly for the summer of 2007, but consideration will be given to projects at other times during the year.

Projects will be supervised by the following staff members, whom applicants are strongly urged to contact in advance of application:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@si.edu

Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Senior Objects Conservator (Panama gold project), 301-238-1235, beaubienh@si.edu

Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu

Robert Koestler, Director (biodeterioration studies), 301-238-1205, KoestlerR@si.edu

Marion Mecklenburg, Senior Research Scientist, 301-238-1241, mecklenburgm@si.edu

Jeff Speakman, Head of Technical Studies, 301-238-1242, speakmanj@si.edu

Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern materials), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu

Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Furniture Conservator (advanced imaging, 3-d scanning), 301-238-1218, wachowiakm@si.edu

Donald Williams, Senior Furniture Conservator, 301-238-1239, williamsd@si.edu

Applications must include the following:

  • a cover letter explaining the candidate’s interests and intent in applying for the project
  • curriculum vitae, with basic biographical information and current and permanent addresses and telephone numbers
  • names and contact information for two references 

All applications should be sent to the staff member with whom the candidate wishes to work, either electronically or at the following address:
           
            Museum Conservation Institute
            Museum Support Center
            Smithsonian Institution
            4210 Silver Hill Road
            Suitland, MD 20746-2863

The application must be postmarked no later than March 15, 2007. Selected candidates will be interviewed by telephone, although MCI visits are welcome. Notifications will be sent by April 15, 2007.