2013 Internships for Research Projects at MCI

The Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute (MCI) is offering short-term opportunities to work on research and conservation projects with staff members. The internships are intended mainly for the summer of 2013, but consideration will be given to projects at other times during the year.  Preference will be given to applicants currently enrolled in conservation training programs or graduate students in related subjects. A stipend may be offered for a period of up to 10 weeks. Projects will be supervised by the following staff members, whom applicants are urged to contact in advance of application:

Mary Ballard, Senior Textiles Conservator, 301-238-1210, ballardm@si.edu
Harriet F. (Rae) Beaubien, Head of Conservation (archaeological materials), 301-238-1235, beaubienh@si.edu
A. Elena Charola, Research Scientist (biodeterioration, stone), 301-238-1213, charolaa@si.edu
Paula DePriest, Deputy Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1206, depriestp@si.edu
Jennifer Giaccai, Conservation Scientist, 301-238-1211, giaccaij@si.edu
Carol Grissom, Senior Objects Conservator, 301-238-1236, grissomc@si.edu
Robert Koestler, Director (biodeterioration), 301-238-1205, koestlerr@si.edu
Nicole Little, Physical Scientist (ICP-MS, XRD, SEM-EDS), 301-238-1243, littlen@si.edu
Odile Madden, Research Scientist (modern materials, plastic, Raman spectroscopy), 301-238-1257, maddeno@si.edu
Mehdi Moini, Senior Research Scientist (mass spectrometry/ proteomics, biological clocks) 301-238-1238, moinim@si.edu
Hanna Szczepanowska, Research Conservator (museum environments), 301-238-1232,   szczepanowskah@si.edu
Jia-Sun Tsang, Senior Paintings Conservator (modern and contemporary art), 301-238-1231, tsangj@si.edu
Ed Vicenzi, Research Scientist (spectroscopic imaging/microscopy), 301-238-1215, vicenzie@si.edu
Melvin Wachowiak, Senior Conservator (advanced imaging, 3D scanning, and wooden artifacts), 301-238-1218, wachowiakm@si.edu

Applications for 2013 summer internships must be made on line at http://www.si.edu/OFI/Apply by February 25, 2013; select the option for the MCI Internship Program.  Undergraduates may also make application for a different program, the MCI Analytical Studies Group (NSF REU) Internship Program, which features archaeological and museum conservation science (see separate announcement at www.si.edu/mci/english/professional_development/fellowships_internships.html).  Selected candidates will be interviewed by telephone, although MCI visits are welcome.